The Daylight Award directs focus at the interface between architecture and research - and places great emphasis on the interaction of theory and practice.


VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and the VELUX STIFTUNG, three philanthropic​ foundations established by Villum Kann Rasmussen, present the Daylight Award of €100,000 to each laureate.

Previous laureates:

  • Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980)
  • Henning Larsen (DK) (1987)
  • Richard Perez (USA) (2008)
  • James Carpenter (USA) (2010)
  • Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011)
  • Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016)
  • Steven Holl (USA) (2016)
  • Hiroshi Sambuichi (2018)
  • ​Greg Ward (2018)

The Daylight Award is presented as two awards

The Daylight Award for Research is presented to an individual or a group of scientists for their outstanding contribution to international daylight research. The award has particular focus on interdisciplinarity and research in human well-being and opportunities for linking theory to practice.

The Daylight Award for Architecture is presented to an individual or a group of architects who have excelled at creating architecture or urban spaces that demonstrates a unique use of daylight with particular focus on architecture that takes into account quality of life and impact on human health and well-being, and the value for its immediate environs.


The laureates 2018: 
Hiroshi Sambuichi og Greg Ward

The laureates will be celebrated on 27 September 2018 at a special ceremony at the Rolex Learning Center in Lausanne, Switzerland. The ceremony will bring together international architects, scientists and business people together to celebrate the laureates' outstanding contributions to daylight in architecture and daylight research.

The laureates 2016: Marilyne Andersen and Steven Holl